WIP Wednesday

20 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday”

  1. Yes, Christina makes it look easy. And then I get stuck in a corner. As to bobbin tension, I bought a low tension bobbin case for my Janome, since I can’t adjust the bobbin tension, and I’ve found it really helps. Nice bold motif you’ve got going there. It looks like it covers the space well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I truly admire you for being brave and going for it with the thread and the quilting. I have managed to FMQ one quilt but it was a pattern on a grid. I can’t bring myself to do an allover pattern, I’m too terrified. Your quilt looks terrific!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pick some of you fabric that you hate, or just use an old sheet, some batting and go for it. Truly it is like jumping off the diving board when you are a kid, plunge in and practice! (But don’t do that with a favorite quilt top to start with!)

      Like

    1. Thank you! I had help from my husband who put both tables together which was so helpful. This is a link for the sewing table that I bought 1 1/2 yrs ago: http://www.hayneedle.com/product/arrow601seriestable.cfm?redirect=false&source=pla&kwid=Sewing_ARW011&tid=ARW011-1&adtype=pla&kw=&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=ARW011-1&gclid=Cj0KEQjw4fCqBRDM1ZKhk5jfo6IBEiQAZQ97OAQKs6wbq3xgeFlHzyvWUA_ZBoyZRaHvQX12CskMnusaAkbq8P8HAQ
      If the link doesn’t work, it is from Hayneedle.com, called Arrow 601 Gidget sewing table. It is not industrial quality, but works adequately, doesn’t shake when I am sewing fast or anything. The mechanism to raise and lower the machine works less well than before as the rubber tubing used as a slide has worn out and I have not tried to fix this in any way, but it has not been a troublesome problem. A little harder to load my side load bobbin, but I can do it. The table we made is just a 24X48 inch by 3/4 inch thick plywood with brackets that we screwed on to the underside and then screwed the legs into the brackets. It is the same height as my sewing table. We covered with white contact paper. It is perfect to hold a queen to king quilt well. I hope this helps!

      Like

  3. Oh, I love Christina Cameli! So happy for talented young ladies like these, Leah Day and Angela Walters as well, who share their ideas and help us all to get better. Your quilt is going to be lovely. I have Christina’s second book and used some of her designs on a little bag I recently made. You’re right: she makes it look so easy, as do all 3 of them. I think your quilting is flowing very nicely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me, too! What a relief! I had someone else adjust it for me, so suspect I will struggle a bit if/when it happens again to do the adjustments on my own. But, I am 3/4 done with a very intensively quilted queen size quilt in just three days of quilting, so am very pleased with the progress!

      Like

Leave a Reply

